Former Katy ISD standouts Jalon Strong and Josh Ferguson produced highlight, game-changing plays during the 17th annual Bayou Bowl all-star high school football game on Saturday at Challenger Stadium in League City.

The West team, featuring seven representatives from Katy ISD, topped the East team, 31-21, in the all-Houston showcase that highlighted outgoing seniors from all over the city. The teams are aligned with I-45 as a dividing line. The game was broadcast live on ABC 13.

Strong, a former Mayde Creek star receiver, scored the game’s first touchdown on a gorgeous 25-yard snare, using his entire 5-foot-8, 155-pound frame to outjump the defensive back just inside the left front pylon on the white chalk of the end zone to put the West up 10-0 late during the first quarter.

Late during the third quarter, former Taylor High star linebacker Josh Ferguson recovered a fumble on the East’s two-yard line for a crucial momentum-altering swing. One play later, quarterback Ja’Marian George of Shadow Creek, the game’s offensive MVP, rushed it in from two yards out for a 24-14 West advantage.

Other players representing Katy ISD on the West team: Taylor defensive lineman Braedon Mowry, Taylor defensive back Sam Milich, Taylor offensive lineman Dillon Alam, Cinco Ranch offensive lineman Connor Hughes and Tompkins offensive lineman Justice Cardenas.

For most players, it was the last game of their high school careers. For others, it was one final tune-up before continuing their careers in college.

Mowry was one of the top players competing. He is headed to Texas A&M. Hughes is a Rice signee. Alam is going to Texas Wesleyan. Ferguson is a New Mexico State signee.

The bowl game had previously been a Texas-Louisiana all-star game before going to an all-Houston arrangement in 2014. The West leads the all-time series, 5-1, since going to the new format.

The game is sponsored by the Greater Houston Football Coaches Association, with all proceeds going to scholarships for athletes, male and female, in the Greater Houston area. Awards range from $1,500-$2,500 per recipient.